The Lord of the Rings, OSFL, and You

By Daniel Gilman

As a little child I dreamed of great adventures, and as a teen I loved Lord of the Rings. But as a student at the University of Ottawa, I’ve had the privilege of making a practical difference promoting respect for all human beings through my involvement with Ottawa Students for Life. Yes. This has everything to do with you putting your name forward for the OSFL election: please keep reading.

Seriously, the closest I’ve ever come to being part of anything like the comradery of the Fellowship of the Ring is through this club. Just like in the Fellowship, we’re made up of a great variety of people united by a respect for the sanctity of human life.

Just like in any of those fairytale adventures, our journey is sometimes rough. It is sometimes discouraging, often feels futile, and always takes time away from home work. It’s a tough cause. Few people today advocate for children in the womb. Few people today take the time to listen to women suffering from an abortion. Few people today are willing to do anything to educate their peers on the reality of foetal development. I don’t always feel as if I’m like living my childhood dream. Sometimes I feel like an integral member of the team, and sometimes I feel redundant and out of sync. But I am committed to this cause regardless of how I feel. I pray that I will have the strength to endure.

Gandhi said that the test of a just society is how it treats its most vulnerable members. I say that society is made up of individuals like you and me. I honestly wish I could spend more of my time focused on school and having a good time; I wish the vulnerable members in our society were cared for, but often they aren’t. Like Frodo in Lord of the Rings, “I wish none of this had happened.” But the reply of Gandalf holds true, “So do all who live to see such times. But that is not for them to decide. All we have to decide is what to do with the time that is given to us.”

And while I used to dream of being part of the Fellowship of the Ring, I now realize that those characters should be envious of me because I am making a difference in the real world, while they’re relegated to the realm of fiction. Being part of OSFL is like being part of Lord of the Rings but way more awesome–it’s real!

So… I suggest putting your name forward for an OSFL leadership position. For more info on how to do this click here

One thought on “The Lord of the Rings, OSFL, and You

  1. Pingback: Pro-Life Campus Blogs: University of Ottawa « University of Toronto Students for Life

Leave a Reply

