Loving the Wounded

by Reita S.

I know a little girl who died. Her name was Katelyn. She had a brother named Kyle, who also died. They were about 9 and 11 when their house caught fire. They were with their mother in the second floor bedroom. She tried to convince them to jump from the window and that the fire department would save them. They were too afraid to jump, though, so she told them that she would go first and would catch them. She jumped from the window and called to them to jump. But they were still too afraid. They were dead of smoke inhalation by the time the fire department reached them. Their mother regrets every day that she did not throw them from the window. If she had, they might still be alive.

They say that hindsight is 20/20. If that mother had been able to foresee the consequences of her actions, we know she would have chosen differently. In the same way, post-abortive people don’t need your judgment anymore than the mother of those children needs you to tell her she made the wrong choice. That was years ago and there is so much regret. She needs you to come along side her, to tell her you’re sorry, to help her get over a tragedy she couldn’t foresee.

Women and men affected by abortion believe at the time that they’re making the right choice. They are sold a lie by society and by abortion providers. They don’t see the long-reaching effects of ‘the easiest way out’. If they’re telling you their story, don’t tell them how they should have known better, don’t tell them they killed their children. They know.

On this blog, one post abortive woman writes:

I know that this sounds terrible and helpless, but I cannot underemphasise the gravity of what I did – I murdered four human beings. […] I made four mistakes. The mistakes were not those babies, who were known and loved by God – they were the abortions.

Those abortions nearly killed me – in more ways than one. While I developed a thick skin on the outside, what was a very scared and helpless little girl on the inside was crying out from a nearly inexpressible anguish, but no one would listen. In the world, abortion is supposed to empower a woman and give her freedom and dignity, not make her weak and crippled as I was becoming.

Abortion is a scar on the soul of all who participate. When we minister to our communities, let us never forget that post-abortive men and women need us just as much as pregnant women do. They need a safe place to take out a private wound. They need to forgive themselves. They need to be forgiven.

Hard-line tactics do not help the wounded. Love does.

Please, show love to the hurting.

One thought on “Loving the Wounded

  1. unburden

    When my ex-wife and I decided that we should get an abortion I thought nothing of it. I remember talking about “it”. Do you really give a good goddamn about it I had asked. She stated it was wrong but acquiesced to my demands. I didnt want the kid and I dont really think she did either but she might have kept him.

    We didnt advertise what we had done to our friends or co-workers. I wasnt ashamed but I did feel it was private as did she.

    I was blessed with another son about 5 years after that. We were ready then I guess. My son was born with learning disabilities and a low IQ. He struggles in life and is in 2nd grade now and we are divorced and cannot agree on parenting of him. I love him as does she and he is a nice boy but he has issues.

    I met a woman who became my girlfriend and we live together now. Several weeks ago we were talking about my son and his issues and she found out my ex had an abortion and made the following comment.

    The reason your son has all these issues is because GOD had a plan for you and your ex and you didnt follow his wishes so your son is fucked up because of that.

    I wish we hadnt had that abortion and I hope GOD is a merciful GOD at least upon my son. He didnt do anything wrong.

    My blog about my life is http://unburden.wordpress.com

    PissWilly

    Reply

Leave a Reply

