All good things must come to an end

by Rebecca Richmond

I spent Saturday in my living room, surrounded by mounds and mounds of papers. Four years worth of paper to be exact: neat notes I took in class, well-cared-for coursepacks, assignments, journal articles, receipts, financial records, bits of this and that. Much of it – perhaps even most of it- got recycled. The end result was a feeling of nostalgia that has lingered…

See, I finished my last exam of university last week and now, I must turn to the daunting task of packing up. My roommate and I have given notice to our landlord and are trying to figure out, after four years, who owns what in this place. “Whose casserole dish is this?” “Aw… I don’t own any cutlery of my own!”

The rather sad task of saying goodbye to friends has begun and I fall asleep dreaming of the best manner in which to pack the over abundance of belongings I seem to have accumulated.

University has been a good four years. Not always easy, but always interesting. I believe, and I hope, that I’ve developed my intellectual capacities, my critical thinking and writing skills, and, perhaps, gained a better understanding of the world. But I can’t recall anything from that one economics class I was required to take, and I doubt I can tell you many facts or figures from various other classes.

But for two and a half years I’ve been a pro-life activist with uOttawa Students for Life. It’s been the highlight of my university career. I certainly remember more from that than from economics! It gave meaning to my studies and helped define these past four years.

I will miss city, the University, the club, my friends, and being (relatively) close to my family. But all good things must come to an end. One chapter of my life closes, and another begins. I’m sad to leave uOSFL but I’m also happy, knowing that it is in such capable hands. I’m confident that Theresa, Amanda and the amazing leadership team will take the club to new heights next year, building on a foundation that I was privileged to help lay.

Pro-life has always been a passion of mine. Now, it’s more than that. It’s a choice that I’ve made. Pro-life isn’t just something I believe; it’s a mission I have to live. Leaving Ottawa and uOSFL isn’t the end of that choice and that mission. No, it’s just the beginning.

Leave a Reply

