Finding Your Spark

by James Richmond

It is not difficult for people to believe something for so long that they end up forgetting why they believed it in the first place. Unfortunately, this has happened several times in my life, but, thankfully, each time something has happened to reaffirm my belief.

I was raised in a pro-life environment and I accepted the idea that abortion is wrong early on in my childhood. Obviously, as I grew my beliefs were challenged and thus they matured, helping to bring me to where I am today: majoring in Ethics at the University of Ottawa. Almost every day I have the opportunity to debate current controversial issues with my professors and classmates. We cover a broad range of topics like abortion, euthanasia, stem cell research, eugenics, and animal rights. While I am so thankful that I have been given these wonderful opportunities to try and change the hearts and minds of my classmates, sometimes I can get caught up in the philosophizing and forget the very real battle that is taking place every day in abortion clinics around the world.

A couple of weeks ago, during the spring break, I was privileged to be able to travel down to Florida with some of my close friends to enjoy the beaches. While we were visiting, the 40 Days for Life campaign was taking place, and the local parish invited us to join them outside the abortion clinic for the hour that they had signed up for. We gladly accepted and spent an hour that evening holding signs and praying for any young couple who was considering an abortion.

I have participated in the 40 Days for Life campaign in Ottawa, and I knew that this was not just confined to Canada, but despite that knowledge it was inspiring to see our two nations united in a common purpose. As I mentioned earlier, despite debating life issues frequently in class, it is easy to view abortion in a sterilized, philosophical light, and not as an ongoing reality where lives are lost every day. Standing out on the sidewalk in Florida with a pregnancy crisis centre on one side of the street and an abortion clinic on the other side, I was reminded just how real the battle is that is going on for the lives of our preborn children.

It may seem like a comical comparison, but the two buildings straddling the street with their two very different purposes seemed similar to the angel on one shoulder and the devil on the other acting as two opposing consciences. I can only imagine the incredible stress and fear that must go on in a woman’s head as she stands looking at those two buildings on either side of her. While I stood there and prayed for the lives of the preborn and the hearts of the couples considering an abortion, my passion for the pro-life campaign was reignited.

The purpose behind this blog post is not to just tell you about an experience that I had, but to challenge readers to find their spark. Go out and find the spark the reignites the fire in your heart so that when you begin to question why it is that you are going to a club meeting when you have a paper due the next day, you will think back to that spark and be inspired. Whether it be seeing the horrific graphic images of aborted foetuses, standing on a street corner outside a clinic or high school, or debating with your friends, I hope that everyone fighting for the rights of the preborn has something that stirs up their passion for defending life.

Leave a Reply

