Adoption – Stronger Because Of It

They say what doesn’t kill you makes you stronger (cue Kelly Clarkson) and that is even truer when it comes to giving life. Good for this girl for staying strong even when the men in her life tried to pressure her into “choice.”

He sat me down and told me I needed to have an abortion. My whole world came crashing down again. I have never cried so hard. I was lost, and the only man I knew truly loved me was telling me to do the same thing the boy I thought loved me said to do. I stood toe to toe with my father and told him no. I had more respect than that for myself and for God.

(…)

I’m so glad I chose life and gave Brett a chance at a good and happy life. He is a gift to everyone, and even though it was hard, I would never take back the journey I went through. I’m stronger because of it.

Here in Ottawa, FirstPlace Options, Birthright and Miriam Centre can provide information about local adoption services. AdoptioninCanada is a great website with information about the adoption process.

2 thoughts on “Adoption – Stronger Because Of It

  1. everyoneactdead

    the key to reducing abortions and unwanted pregnancies should NOT be more adoption. better education, birth control, and social and financial support of low-income mothers should be a bigger priority. while adoption can be a good thing, separating a mother and baby causes a lifetime of pain and grief for both and it should always be a LAST RESORT.

    Reply
    1. uOttawa Students For Life Post author

      Hi Ariel,
      Thanks for commenting. I agree that women should be fully informed and know they have all the support they need to go with adoption or parenting. I visited your blog and your story brought tears to my eyes. Your emotions are totally legitimate and your love for your baby boy is beautiful. Everyone’s story is unique and I am so sorry that your are suffering this grief. Even though it might not feel like it right now, you are strong and you did an amazing thing by giving your son the most important gift of all: life. We don’t know what the future holds, but many adoptees have gone on to have great relationships with their birth family.
      Maybe talking with a post-adoption counselor would be helpful. A local group I can suggest is info@firstplaceoptions.ca
      Wishing you much peace and support,
      Sara

      Reply

Leave a Reply

